Online Marketing Terminology: The Basics

Please understand that there are hundreds of different codes and abbreviations online marketing companies use, some of them more important than others. The main thing to focus on, are obviously the codes that involve money, or financial contributions, before you write a nice check for a term you don’t know anything about.Online Marketing Term PPCPPC stands for Pay Per Click (or less commonly Pay Per Campaign), and the set up is quite simple. PPC is a paid form of advertising, set up through search engines (the most common being Google AdWords.) When you set up your PPC account, you enter in a short advertisement. These advertisements are then used in comparison with keywords you select. Your keywords are the terms potential clients might use in a search engine to find a business or company selling what they need. The search engine then hosts these paid advertisement on the top and sides of the organic search engines, in the form of paid ads. These ads are completely free, until someone clicks on them. Meaning, if you have a marketing campaign that has 10,000 impressions (times it’s shown on the search engine results) and only 1 person clicks on your ad, you only pay for that one ad.PPC Online marketing is a cost effective form of advertising, especially for those with specific keywords or phrases.Online Marketing Term CPCCPC or cost per click is the amount of money your currently paying for those potential customers to pay for your advertising. If you have $10 in your account and 40 people click on the ad – the CPC would be $0.40 per click. These costs can vary substancially in online marketing, depending on the competition of the keyword and the demand for placement. Ranging from increments of 10 cents, keywords can run as high as $8-10 per click for very competitive keywords, depending on your provider.Online Marketing Term CPICPI is referred to as cost per impression. It varies slightly from cost per click in that you pay for every time your ad appears, regardless of whether it’s been clicked or not. The benefit to cost per impression is often the cost factor, meaning if you budget $10 and it’s been shown 1,000 times, your overall cost per impression is only 0.01 cent.Online Marketing Term CTRCTR (Click Through Rate or Click Through Ratio) is the amount of times your online marketing material has generated a click through (when a person clicks on your ad) and goes to your site. Email marketing also uses Likewise, a CTR can also be applied to sales, in the respect that a CTR would be the number of times an item has sold in comparison to the number of times the website was viewed.Although these are only some of the most basic abbreviations in terms of viral marketing, it does help you understand a little more about the online lingo that can be lost in translation. While having an understanding does help the marketing process, working with an online marketing company is a sure-fire way to help build your website traffic, and ultimately your conversion rates.